IBM Data and AI Ideas Portal for Customers


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:

Post your ideas

Post ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted and upvote them if they matter to you,

  1. Post an idea

  2. Upvote ideas that matter most to you

  3. Get feedback from the IBM team to refine your idea

Help IBM prioritize your ideas and requests

The IBM team may need your help to refine the ideas so they may ask for more information or feedback. The product management team will then decide if they can begin working on your idea. If they can start during the next development cycle, they will put the idea on the priority list. Each team at IBM works on a different schedule, where some ideas can be implemented right away, others may be placed on a different schedule.

Receive notification on the decision

Some ideas can be implemented at IBM, while others may not fit within the development plans for the product. In either case, the team will let you know as soon as possible. In some cases, we may be able to find alternatives for ideas which cannot be implemented in a reasonable time.

Additional Information

To view our roadmaps: http://ibm.biz/Data-and-AI-Roadmaps

Reminder: This is not the place to submit defects or support needs, please use normal support channel for these cases

IBM Employees:

The correct URL for entering your ideas is: https://hybridcloudunit-internal.ideas.aha.io


Status Future consideration
Workspace Cloud Pak for Data
Created by Guest
Created on Nov 18, 2021

CP4D handling of users which are no longer authorized

If a Cloud Pak for Data user is no longer able to logon (removed from a AD group that is mapped to CPD group) then the user record in "Access control" should be marked as deleted. It should no longer be possible to authorize this user to any CPD services like a catalog/project or Data Virtualization. Furthermore, this user record has to be removed everywhere where this user was authorized (catalog permissions, workflow roles, DV, category permissions, data steward...). If this user is the 'last'/'only' user in that role (again, maybe the only user with publish permissions in a workflow) a warning has to be generated and a default user (maybe the admin user) has to be assigned.
For comments and reviews on an asset we should mark that user as deleted.

Needed By Not sure -- Just thought it was cool
  • Admin
    Yalon Gordon
    Dec 6, 2021

    Hi Felix,


    We had this in the past but found that it often became a drain on the system (resource-wise) for organizations with large AD groups so we removed it.


    In the meanwhile, you can enable this capability on your own if you so desire. As long as you're
    1. Not using Bedrock IAM

    2. Don't have thousands of users in your AD group (which would overwhelm the system)


    Enabling the job can be found in the docs. Ex. for 3.5, https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/cloud-paks/cp-data/3.5.0?topic=users-connecting-your-ldap-server, see Syncing Cloud Pak for Data with your LDAP server section