Skip to Main Content
IBM Data Platform Ideas Portal for Customers


This portal is to open public enhancement requests against products and services offered by the IBM Data Platform organization. To view all of your ideas submitted to IBM, create and manage groups of Ideas, or create an idea explicitly set to be either visible by all (public) or visible only to you and IBM (private), use the IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com).


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:


Search existing ideas

Start by searching and reviewing ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted, and add a comment, vote, or subscribe to updates on them if they matter to you. If you can't find what you are looking for,


Post your ideas

Post ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted and upvote them if they matter to you,

  1. Post an idea

  2. Upvote ideas that matter most to you

  3. Get feedback from the IBM team to refine your idea


Specific links you will want to bookmark for future use

Welcome to the IBM Ideas Portal (https://www.ibm.com/ideas) - Use this site to find out additional information and details about the IBM Ideas process and statuses.

IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com) - Use this site to view all of your ideas, create new ideas for any IBM product, or search for ideas across all of IBM.

ideasibm@us.ibm.com - Use this email to suggest enhancements to the Ideas process or request help from IBM for submitting your Ideas.

IBM Employees should enter Ideas at https://ideas.ibm.com



Status Submitted
Workspace Db2 for z/OS
Created by Guest
Created on Jul 20, 2026

Eliminate requirement to stop all members in the DSG to delete a member

We run a 24x7 shop. The requirement to delete a member include stopping all members in the group:

https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/db2-for-zos/13.0.0?topic=members-destroying-data-sharing

This requires an outage and should not.

In V13, there are now new messages:

DSNJ157I - mmmm BSDS HAS NOT BEEN CONVERTED. DSN=DSG.BSDS01

DSNJ157I -mmmm BSDS HAS NOT BEEN CONVERTED. DSN=DSG.BSDS01

DSNJ157I - mmmm BSDS HAS NOT BEEN CONVERTED. DSN=DSG.BSDS01

DSNR021I -mmmm DSNRRGRC DB2 SUBSYSTEM MUST PERFORM GROUP RESTART FOR PEER MEMBERS

*72 DSNR020I -mmmm DSNRRUTT START MEMBER DSG OR REPLY 'NO' OR 'QUIESCED'

The system is attempting to validate quiesced members, but the reality is I do not want to upgrade the BSDS' to the new format, I want to delete them. I cannot delete them because shutting down all members in the group creates a business-impacting outage.

Needed By Yesterday (Let's go already!)