Skip to Main Content
IBM Data Platform Ideas Portal for Customers


This portal is to open public enhancement requests against products and services offered by the IBM Data Platform organization. To view all of your ideas submitted to IBM, create and manage groups of Ideas, or create an idea explicitly set to be either visible by all (public) or visible only to you and IBM (private), use the IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com).


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:


Search existing ideas

Start by searching and reviewing ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted, and add a comment, vote, or subscribe to updates on them if they matter to you. If you can't find what you are looking for,


Post your ideas

Post ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted and upvote them if they matter to you,

  1. Post an idea

  2. Upvote ideas that matter most to you

  3. Get feedback from the IBM team to refine your idea


Specific links you will want to bookmark for future use

Welcome to the IBM Ideas Portal (https://www.ibm.com/ideas) - Use this site to find out additional information and details about the IBM Ideas process and statuses.

IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com) - Use this site to view all of your ideas, create new ideas for any IBM product, or search for ideas across all of IBM.

ideasibm@us.ibm.com - Use this email to suggest enhancements to the Ideas process or request help from IBM for submitting your Ideas.

IBM Employees should enter Ideas at https://ideas.ibm.com



Status Submitted
Workspace OpenPages Ideas
Components Other
Created by Guest
Created on Jul 21, 2026

File Check in / Check out : the popup button " Enable modification merges when the server file becomes avaiable " should be functional

Hello Team,

Currently, when editing a Microsoft Office file ( pptx, docx, xilx ... ), when the file is already checked out by another end-user, there's a popup appearing which propose two options :
1- open in read-only ( this option works as expected )
2- Edit the file and merge your changes (with the server file when it becomes available)-> this option is not working as expected !!!

The dual-editing capability is ok, but when the file became available ( meaning one of the editor has checked-in/released the file ) , the second editor never receive a message signaling it, and when the second editor ( the one remaining on the file ) save it's version of edited file, the merging is not done with the version of the 1st editor ... Instead, the 2nd editor save a new version based on the original ( before edition from 1st ediror ) and not from the one saved by editor n°1 .

Therefore, the apparent conclusion is that the Merge capability does not work at all although it is offered as an option in the popup button.

Needed By Yesterday (Let's go already!)