IBM Data and AI Ideas Portal for Customers


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:

Post your ideas

Post ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted and upvote them if they matter to you,

  1. Post an idea

  2. Upvote ideas that matter most to you

  3. Get feedback from the IBM team to refine your idea

Help IBM prioritize your ideas and requests

The IBM team may need your help to refine the ideas so they may ask for more information or feedback. The product management team will then decide if they can begin working on your idea. If they can start during the next development cycle, they will put the idea on the priority list. Each team at IBM works on a different schedule, where some ideas can be implemented right away, others may be placed on a different schedule.

Receive notification on the decision

Some ideas can be implemented at IBM, while others may not fit within the development plans for the product. In either case, the team will let you know as soon as possible. In some cases, we may be able to find alternatives for ideas which cannot be implemented in a reasonable time.

Additional Information

To view our roadmaps: http://ibm.biz/Data-and-AI-Roadmaps

Reminder: This is not the place to submit defects or support needs, please use normal support channel for these cases

IBM Employees:

The correct URL for entering your ideas is: https://hybridcloudunit-internal.ideas.aha.io


Status Submitted
Workspace Watson Assistant
Created by Guest
Created on Feb 18, 2021

Warning when deleting any Dialog node that is used elsewhere (for Watson Assistant Dialog Skills)

Problem statement:

In Watson Assistant Dialog Skills, you can currently delete a node that is used in the flow (i.e. if it is jumped to or if any of the children nodes are jumped to) without any warning.

Real Life example of this issue:

I recently deleted a node that was jumped to by 42 other nodes and didn't realize it until days later during testing. I had to manually locate each place and fix the jump. It took about 2 hours and 21 minutes to fix all the issues, verify the changes and do some testing. More testing will be done to validate the fixes.


Proposed Solution:

When deleting a node (and it's children) a warning would be provided that tells if the node (or any of it's children) are jumped to by any other node.

It would be even better if those nodes (and their IDs) could be provided.

And, right now, when this happens, the nodes are set to "Wait for input", it would be nice for the user to select between a node to jump to or "Wait for input".

Benefits and Value:

This would save hours of time when such a mistake is made.


Number of Users impacted:

I don't have a count, but since it's very easy to delete a node in a big skill without any warning of where it's used, this probably occurs more often than we would like.



Who would benefit from this IDEA? Skill developers